Project Group

The urban environment is the central theme in the work of Ulrich Wüst. Since he began his artistic career as a photographer in the 70's, he has repeatedly examined the urban design of eastern Berlin. In 1995, when Kasper König invited him to participate in the international art project of the energy-provider BEWAG, he was offered the opportunity to do a nearly two-year-long, extensive study on the rapid changes in the urban space of Berlin Mitte. For this Internet photo essay, he once again took photos in the Mitte district in 1999.

The artist Pat Binder and the art mediator Gerhard Haupt have been working with the Internet since 1996. Their very first project, Universes in Universe, an extensive information and communication system for the visual arts, received great attention worldwide. Above all they realize cultural projects, from the original concept up until the creative and technical implementation. (see uinic - Projects)

Binder, Haupt and Wüst live in Berlin and have worked together on previous projects. From February to May 1998, Ulrich Wüst presented a work in the Foto/Graphik Galerie Käthe Kollwitz, a project by Pat Binder. He was one of the two artists in the exhibition »Das Eigene im Anderen - das Andere im Eigenen« (The Self in Other - the Other in Self) curated by Gerhard Haupt (Mexico, 1998).

©  Ulrich Wüst, Pat Binder, Gerhard Haupt

Berlin Mitte. Explorations of an Urban Conversion

Home    Photo Essay    Project    Text    Authors
Biographies:

Pat Binder

Gerhard Haupt

Ulrich Wüst

Projektgruppe

Die städtische Umwelt ist das zentrale Thema im Schaffen von Ulrich Wüst. Seit er seine künstlerische Tätigkeit als Fotograf in den 70er Jahren begann, hat er sich immer wieder mit der urbanen Gestalt des Ostteils von Berlin auseinander gesetzt. Als er 1995 von Kasper König zur Teilnahme am internationalen Kunstprojekt des Energieversorgers BEWAG eingeladen wurde, bot sich ihm die Gelegenheit für eine fast zweijährige, ausgiebige Recherche der rapiden Veränderungen im Stadtraum von Berlin Mitte. Für diesen Bildessay im Internet fotografierte er 1999 erneut im Stadtbezirk Mitte.

Die Künstlerin Pat Binder und der Kunstvermittler Gerhard Haupt arbeiten seit 1996 mit dem Internet. Schon ihr erstes Projekt Universes in Universe, ein umfangreiches Informations- und Kommunikationssystem für visuelle Künste, hat weltweit große Beachtung gefunden. Sie realisieren vor allem Kulturprojekte vom Konzept bis zur gestalterischen und technischen Umsetzung. (siehe uinic - Projekte)

Binder, Haupt und Wüst leben in Berlin und haben bereits bei früheren Projekten zusammengearbeitet. Von Februar bis Mai 1998 präsentierte Ulrich Wüst eine Arbeit in der von Pat Binder betriebenen Foto/Graphik Galerie Käthe Kollwitz. Er war einer der beiden Künstler in der von Gerhard Haupt kuratierten Ausstellung »Das Eigene im Anderen - das Andere im Eigenen« (1998 in Mexiko).

©  Ulrich Wüst, Pat Binder, Gerhard Haupt

Berlin Mitte. Erkundungen eines Stadtumbaus

Home    Fotoessay    Projekt    Text    Autoren
Biographien:

Pat Binder

Gerhard Haupt

Ulrich Wüst