On the 4th of November 1989, more than 500,000 people convened on Berlin's Alexanderplatz for the largest rally of the democracy movement in the GDR. Our project aims to call attention to this event in the place in which it occurred.

[please also see the Foreword by Thomas Flierl]
Origin of the Idea up

For this idea, a vivid form of commemoration was chosen, a form developed by the artist Pat Binder for a homage to the German graphic artist, illustrator and sculptor Käthe Kollwitz (1867 - 1945). Since October 1997, in an illuminated billboard on the site of the home of Käthe and Karl Kollwitz in Prenzlauer Berg, she has been presenting works in a three-month rotation by artists who are committed, in a current sense, to Kollwitz's humanistic spirit of creation.
[See Foto/Graphik Galerie Käthe Kollwitz]

Dr. Thomas Flierl, Council Chairman for Ecological City Planning, Building and Housing in Berlin's Mitte District, suggested adapting this concept for a »Denkzeichen 4. November 1989« (Memory Marker to the 4th of November 1989) on Alexanderplatz. It is being implemented by a project-group consisting of Pat Binder and Gerhard Haupt.
Location up

Location on Alexanderplatz
»Denkzeichen« on Alexanderplatz up

In the »Denkzeichen 4. November 1989« works will be shown for a period of 3 months each, of artists from Germany and other countries who deal with the individual and collective effort to establish and protect democratic conditions, as well as with the conflicts of the individual between adaptation and resistance, resignation and civil courage. As Thomas Flierl wrote in his Foreword , the »questioning of democracy's democratization« is explicitly included.

Through the international nature of the project, parallels between the rally in Berlin or the democracy movement in the GDR and democratic efforts in different parts of the world should become clear.

The artists create an artwork adjusted to the specific medium of an illuminated billboard, originally designated for advertisement in a prominent urban public space, and use its abilities to affect the audience. The »exhibition rotation« will take place at the beginning of each February, May, August and November. Intensive public relations work is part of the project, and will contribute to keeping interest in the project and its historic motive permanently alive.
Information Panel up

An information panel allocated to the illuminated billboard presents facts about the reference of this »Denkzeichen«, the demonstration on 4 November 1989, as well as about the exhibiting artists and the works being presented.


Internet Presence up

Through a continuously updated presentation on the Internet (in English and German), the project will be expanded from the urban into the virtual realm in order to increase its radius of action and to make a detailed documentation accessible worldwide. In this way, feedback in the exhibiting artists' countries of origin, as well as direct reactions from the public will be possible.

(Translation: Holly Austin)
©   Project Group: Pat Binder, Gerhard Haupt
Email: contact@universes.art

Project  |  Artists  |  Home

Denkzeichen 4. November 1989

Am 4. November 1989 versammelten sich über 500.000 Menschen auf dem Berliner Alexanderplatz zur größten Kundgebung der Demokratiebewegung in der DDR. Unser Projekt soll am Ort des Geschehens auf dieses Ereignis aufmerksam machen.

[siehe auch das Geleitwort von Thomas Flierl]
Ursprung der Idee Seitenanfang

Dazu wurde eine lebendige Form des Gedenkens gewählt, die von der Künstlerin Pat Binder für eine Hommage an die deutsche Grafikerin, Zeichnerin und Bildhauerin Käthe Kollwitz (1867 - 1945) entwickelt wurde. In einem Leuchtkasten am Ort des Wohnhauses von Käthe und Karl Kollwitz in Prenzlauer Berg präsentiert sie seit Oktober 1997 in dreimonatigem Wechsel Arbeiten von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die dem humanistischen Geist des Schaffens der Kollwitz in einem aktuellen Sinne verpflichtet sind.
[Siehe Foto/Graphik Galerie Käthe Kollwitz]

Dr. Thomas Flierl, Bezirksstadtrat für Ökologische Stadtentwicklung, Bauen und Wohnen im Bezirksamt Mitte von Berlin, schlug vor, dieses Konzept für ein »Denkzeichen 4. November 1989« auf dem Alexanderplatz zu adaptieren. Es wird von einer Projektgruppe, bestehend aus Pat Binder und Gerhard Haupt, realisiert.
Lageplan Seitenanfang

Lage auf dem Alexanderplatz
Denkzeichen auf dem Alexanderplatz Seitenanfang

Im »Denkzeichen 4. November 1989« werden jeweils für 3 Monate Arbeiten von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Deutschland und anderen Ländern gezeigt, die sich mit dem individuellen und kollektiven Bemühen um die Herstellung und Bewahrung demokratischer Verhältnisse sowie mit den Konflikten des Einzelnen zwischen Anpassung und Widerstand, Resignation und Zivilcourage auseinandersetzen. Wie Thomas Flierl in seinem Geleitwort schrieb, ist die »Frage nach der Demokratisierung der Demokratie« ausdrücklich einbezogen.

Durch die Internationalität des Projekts sollen Parallelen zwischen der Kundgebung in Berlin bzw. der Demokratiebewegung in der DDR und demokratischen Bestrebungen in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt deutlich werden.

Die Künstlerinnen und Künstler stellen sich auf das spezifische Medium eines ursprünglich für Werbung bestimmten Leuchtkastens an einem prominenten öffentlichen Ort im urbanen Raum ein und nutzen dessen Wirkungsmöglichkeiten. Der »Ausstellungswechsel« erfolgt jeweils am Anfang der Monate Februar, Mai, August und November. Eine intensive Öffentlichkeitsarbeit ist Teil des Projekts und trägt dazu bei, die Aufmerksamkeit für das Denkzeichen und seinen historischen Anlass permanent wachzuhalten.
Informationstafel Seitenanfang

Eine dem Leuchtkasten zugeordnete Informationstafel gibt sowohl über den Bezugspunkt dieses Denkzeichens, die Kundgebung am 4. November 1989, als auch über die ausstellenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler und deren präsentierte Arbeit Auskunft.


Ausweitung ins Internet Seitenanfang

Durch eine fortlaufend aktualisierte Präsentation im Internet (in Deutsch und Englisch) wird das Projekt vom urbanen in den virtuellen Raum ausgeweitet, um dessen Reichweite zu erhöhen und eine ausführliche Dokumentation allgemein zugänglich zu machen. So werden Rückwirkungen auch in die Herkunftsländer der ausstellenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler und direkte Reaktionen des Publikums möglich.
©   Projektgruppe: Pat Binder, Gerhard Haupt
Email: info@universes-in-universe.de

Projekt  |  Künstler  |  Home

Denkzeichen 4. November 1989